Mon May 29, 2017

Tomas Liska & Invisible World (CZ/A/TK)

Tomas Liska: bass
Nikola Zaric: accordion
Efe Turumtay: violin
Kamil Slezak: percussion
David Doruzka: guitar

Tomas Liska’s “Invisible World” is an entirely unique outcry on the Czech jazz scene. His mature original music mixes modern jazz elements, chamber music, with echoes of flamenco and music of the southern seas. Strong melodies and themes which carry weight make for pure and intelligible music. It’s a contemplative project, with spacey arrangements that allow the music to breathe. (Lubomír Dorůžka – music journalist and editor)

Tomáš Liška´s „Invisible World“ is a truly unique venture within the landscape of contemporary Czech music. The project´s own musical compositions combine elements of Jazz, chamber music and World Music from the Mediterranean and South-Eastern regions of the European continent. Their approach is not based on individual exhibitions, but rather on a philosophy where music is a clear and crystalline medium which irradiates a rich palette of emotional hues. These are inspired by strong melodies which are adorned by a subtle and seemingly effortless lacework of improvisation.

Efe Turumtay (violin) was born in Istanbul, Nikola Zarić (accordion) in Serbia and Kamil Slezak (drums) in Poland. Tomáš Liška (upright bass) met all three in the course of his musical journeys around the world, while tirelessly searching for fascinating interactions between instruments and cultures which would enthrall both him and his audiences.